Energy infrastructure affected by the Russia–Ukraine war, including occupied Ukrainian territory.
Historical inventory · 24 February 2022 onward. A growing, selective inventory of source-linked events; coverage is uneven across regions. Status is historical, as of each cited report; current operating conditions have not been reassessed. Regional tabs do not imply a particular perpetrator. Event records and aggregate reports are counted separately below.
Inventory records525491 event records · 34 aggregate reports
Major damage reported8Source-attributed severity
Sourced repair forecasts6Historical estimates; may change
Recorded restoration milestones14Includes partial restarts
Geographic view
Energy infrastructure disruptions
525 approved records · 0 with cited coordinates · 525 without a mapped point
Land: Natural Earth · public domainHistorical assessments · not live facility status
Regional overview by energy chain
Current filters · event records / aggregate reports
Region
Upstream
Midstream
Downstream
Electricity
Water / desalination
Unclassified
Quantified disruption
Russia & Ukraine
6 / 4
207 / 12
192 / 1
79 / 17
0 / 0
7 / 0
0
records with reported magnitude
Counts describe selected historical records, not unique facilities or strikes. Aggregate reports may overlap events. Capacity, tonnage and lost output are not summed; units and scope differ. Missing magnitude stays unknown.
Reported incidents & disruptions
525 records
Date
Facility / location
Segment / vessel
Magnitude / capacity / size
Physical damage
Evidence basis
Oct 2, 2026
As of Oct 12, 2026
Russia · Samara
Midstream
pipeline pumping and dispatch station
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Single-source
1 source link
Oct 2, 2026
As of Oct 2, 2026
Ukraine · Nalivaikov
Power
Electric substation
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Single-source
1 source link
Oct 2, 2026
As of Oct 2, 2026
Russia · Volgograd and Samara
Unclassified
refinery and chemical plant
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Single-source
1 source link
Sep 28, 2026
As of Sep 28, 2026
Russia · Novotitarovskaya, Krasnodar Krai
Downstream
Petroleum-products storage depot
Magnitude not established
Fire reported
Single-source
2 source links
Sep 26, 2026
As of Sep 26, 2026
Russia · Krasnodar Krai · Aggregate report
Power
Electricity distribution network
Magnitude not established
Partial
Attributed report
2 source links
Sep 25, 2026
As of Sep 25, 2026
Russia · Novoshakhtinsk, Rostov Oblast
Downstream
Oil refinery
Magnitude not established
Partial
Attributed report
1 source link
Sep 24, 2026
As of Sep 24, 2026
Russia · Kagalnitsky District, Rostov Oblast
Midstream
Oil depot
Magnitude not established
Partial
Attributed report
1 source link
Sep 22, 2026
As of Sep 26, 2026
Russia · Neryungri, Sakha Republic (Yakutia)
Power
Coal-fired power and heat plant
Magnitude not established
Fire reported
Attributed report
2 source links
Sep 20, 2026
As of Sep 21, 2026
Russia · Kapotnya, Moscow
Downstream
Oil refinery
Magnitude not established
Partial
Attributed report
4 source links
Sep 19, 2026
As of Sep 19, 2026
Ukraine · Odesa / parts of Odesa district · Aggregate report
Power
Electricity network
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Attributed report
2 source links
Sep 18, 2026
As of Sep 19, 2026
Russia · Krasnodar
Unclassified
Not established
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Single-source
1 source link
Sep 18, 2026
As of Sep 18, 2026
Russia · Azov, Rostov Oblast · Aggregate report
Midstream
Gas distribution connections and power lines
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Attributed report
1 source link
Sep 17, 2026
As of Sep 19, 2026
Ukraine · Odesa
Power
Substation
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Single-source
1 source link
Sep 17, 2026
As of Sep 17, 2026
Russia · Yaroslavl
Downstream
Oil refinery
Magnitude not established
Fire reported
Attributed report
1 source link
Sep 16, 2026
As of Sep 16, 2026
Russia · Syzran
Downstream
Oil refinery
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Attributed report
1 source link
Sep 13, 2026
As of Sep 13, 2026
Russia · Slavyansk-EKO refinery; precise point unresolved
Downstream
Oil refinery
Magnitude not established
Fire reported
Attributed report
2 source links
Sep 13, 2026
As of Sep 13, 2026
Russia · Nizhnekamsk
Downstream
Oil refinery
Magnitude not established
Fire reported
Attributed report
2 source links
Sep 13, 2026
As of Sep 13, 2026
Ukraine · Putyvl hromada, Konotop district, Sumy Oblast
Power
Utility repair vehicle
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Attributed report
2 source links
Sep 10, 2026
As of Sep 10, 2026
Russia · Novy Urengoy / Purovsky district · Aggregate report
Upstream
Gas-condensate processing plants
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Attributed report
1 source link
Sep 8, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Saratov, Saratov Oblast, Russia
Downstream
Oil refinery
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Sep 8, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Khomutovsky District, Kursk Oblast, Russia
Unclassified
Energy facility, unspecified
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Sep 8, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Belovsky District, Kursk Oblast, Russia
Power
Power transmission line
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Sep 8, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Ukraine · Plant location not disclosed
Power
Thermal power station
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Attributed report
1 source link
Sep 7, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Republic of Tatarstan, Russia
Downstream
Oil refinery
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Sep 7, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Perm, Perm Krai, Russia
Downstream
Oil refinery
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Sep 6, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Ryazan, Ryazan Oblast, Russia
Downstream
Oil refinery
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Workbook record
2 source links
Sep 4, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Sochi, Krasnodar Krai, Russia
Midstream
Oil depot
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Workbook record
2 source links
Sep 4, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Sirius federal territory, Russia
Midstream
Oil depot
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Sep 3, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Sochi port, Krasnodar Krai, Russia
Unclassified
Offshore oil/gas support vessel
Vessel category: Offshore oil/gas support vessel Class / tonnage: Not established
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Sep 3, 2026
As of Sep 3, 2026
Ukraine · Locations not disclosed in saved operator notes · Aggregate report
Upstream
Production facilities
Magnitude not established
Fire reported
Attributed report
1 source link
Sep 1, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Ust-Luga, Leningrad Oblast, Russia
Midstream
Gas-condensate processing / export terminal
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Workbook record
2 source links
Aug 31, 2026
As of Sep 1, 2026
Ukraine · Odesa
Power
Combined heat and power plant
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Attributed report
1 source link
Aug 30, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Kirishi, Leningrad Oblast, Russia
Downstream
Oil refinery
Asset capacity / size
20 million tonnes/year
Capacity / size context; not measured loss.
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Aug 28, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Yaroslavl, Yaroslavl Oblast, Russia
Downstream
Oil refinery
Asset capacity / size
About 15 million tonnes/year
Capacity / size context; not measured loss.
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Aug 26, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Kstovo, Nizhny Novgorod Oblast, Russia
Downstream
Oil refinery
Asset capacity / size
About 15 million tonnes/year
Capacity / size context; not measured loss.
Unknown
Workbook record
2 source links
Aug 25, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Novoshakhtinsk, Rostov Oblast, Russia
Downstream
Oil refinery
Asset capacity / size
More than 5 million tonnes/year
Capacity / size context; not measured loss.
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Aug 25, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Afipsky, Krasnodar Krai, Russia
Downstream
Oil refinery
Asset capacity / size
7.2 million tonnes processed in 2024 (actual throughput, not nameplate)
Capacity / size context; not measured loss.
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Aug 22, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Novokuibyshevsk, Samara Oblast, Russia
Downstream
Oil refinery
Asset capacity / size
8.8 million tonnes/year, reported capacity
Capacity / size context; not measured loss.
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Aug 21, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Perm, Perm Krai, Russia
Downstream
Oil refinery
Asset capacity / size
12.6 million tonnes processed in 2024 (actual throughput, not nameplate)
Capacity / size context; not measured loss.
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Aug 20, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Krasnodar Krai, Russia
Midstream
Oil terminal
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Aug 19, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Ufa, Bashkortostan, Russia
Downstream
Refinery
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Aug 19, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Nizhnekamsk, Tatarstan, Russia
Downstream
Refinery
Asset capacity / size
17 million tonnes processed in 2024 (throughput, not nameplate)
Capacity / size context; not measured loss.
Unknown
Workbook record
2 source links
Aug 14, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Ust-Luga, Leningrad Oblast, Russia
Midstream
Gas condensate processing
Asset capacity / size
9 million tonnes/year (three 3-million-tonne units)
Capacity / size context; not measured loss.
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Aug 13, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Salavat, Bashkortostan, Russia
Downstream
Refinery and petrochemical complex
Asset capacity / size
Up to 74 million barrels/year, Ukrainian military figure
Capacity / size context; not measured loss.
Unknown
Workbook record
2 source links
Aug 11, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Orsk, Orenburg Oblast, Russia
Downstream
Refinery
Magnitude not established
Unknown
Workbook record
2 source links
Aug 10, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Tobolsk, Tyumen Oblast, Russia
Midstream
Petrochemical and LPG processing
Asset capacity / size
About 6 million tonnes/year LPG production (industry sources)
Capacity / size context; not measured loss.
Unknown
Workbook record
2 source links
Aug 10, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Nizhnekamsk, Tatarstan, Russia
Downstream
Refinery
Asset capacity / size
17 million tonnes processed in 2024 (throughput, not nameplate)
Capacity / size context; not measured loss.
Unknown
Workbook record
2 source links
Aug 8, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Syzran, Samara Oblast, Russia
Downstream
Refinery
Asset capacity / size
8.5 million tonnes/year
Capacity / size context; not measured loss.
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Aug 8, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Ilsky, Krasnodar Krai, Russia
Downstream
Refinery
Asset capacity / size
Over 6 million tonnes/year
Capacity / size context; not measured loss.
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Aug 6, 2026
As of Sep 8, 2026
Russia · Yaroslavl, Yaroslavl Oblast, Russia
Downstream
Refinery
Asset capacity / size
15 million tonnes/year
Capacity / size context; not measured loss.
Unknown
Workbook record
1 source link
Open a facility to inspect the evidence, operating impact, repair outlook and assessment history.
Compare reported recovery milestones and forecasts. Unknown repair duration stays unknown. Partial restart, full restoration and reconstruction are separate outcomes; elapsed-day values are not engineering predictions.
Facility
Recovery basis
Reported outlook / milestone
Assessment date
Russia
Unknown
No sourced repair or restart estimate established.
Oct 12, 2026
Ukraine
Unknown
No sourced repair or restart estimate established.
Oct 2, 2026
Russia
Unknown
No sourced repair or restart estimate established.
Oct 2, 2026
Russia
Unknown
No sourced repair or restart estimate was available.
Sep 28, 2026
Russia
Unknown
The Kommersant headline reports restoration, but the original body, timing and coverage were unavailable.
Sep 26, 2026
Russia
Unknown
No sourced repair duration or restart date was provided.
Sep 25, 2026
Russia
Unknown
No sourced repair or restart estimate was provided.
Sep 24, 2026
Russia
Observed restart
The cable line was restored and unit 3 was restarted and synchronized on September 26.
Sep 26, 2026
Russia
Reported estimate
Industry sources expected repairs and restoration to take several weeks. This is not an operator-confirmed timetable.
Sep 21, 2026
Ukraine
Unknown
Restoration work was ongoing without a sourced completion time.
Sep 19, 2026
Russia
Unknown
No sourced repair or restart estimate established.
Sep 19, 2026
Russia
Unknown
No repair or full-restoration timetable established by the retrieved report.
Sep 18, 2026
Ukraine
Unknown
No sourced repair or restart estimate established.
Sep 19, 2026
Russia
Unknown
No sourced repair or restart estimate established.
Sep 17, 2026
Russia
Reported estimate
Industry sources estimated at least one month for repairs. Rosneft did not comment; this is not an operator-confirmed timetable.
Sep 16, 2026
Russia
Unknown
No sourced repair or restart estimate established.
Sep 13, 2026
Russia
Unknown
No sourced repair or restart estimate established.
Sep 13, 2026
Ukraine
Unknown
No sourced repair or restart estimate established.
Sep 13, 2026
Russia
Unknown
No sourced repair or restart estimate established.
Sep 10, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: No verified repair or restart date found.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: No verified repair or restart date found.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: No verified repair or restart date found.
Sep 8, 2026
Ukraine
Unknown
No repair or full-restoration timetable established by the retrieved report.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: No verified repair or restart date found.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: No verified repair or restart date found.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: No verified repair or restart date found.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: No verified repair or restart date found.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: No verified repair or restart date found.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: No verified repair or restart date found.
Sep 8, 2026
Ukraine
Unknown
No sourced repair or restart estimate established.
Sep 3, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: No verified repair or restart date found.
Sep 8, 2026
Ukraine
Unknown
No sourced repair or restart estimate established.
Sep 1, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: No verified repair or restart date found.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: No verified repair or restart date found.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: Reuters sources could not estimate restart timing; Sept. 4 Ukrainian General Staff still reported shutdown.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: No verified repair or restart date found.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: No verified repair or restart date found.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: No verified repair or restart date found.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: Reuters Aug. 24: preliminary repair estimate of 1–2 weeks; completion not verified.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
No separately verified repair or restart assessment added during import. Any timing statements remain in the original workbook fields below.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
No separately verified repair or restart assessment added during import. Any timing statements remain in the original workbook fields below.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
No separately verified repair or restart assessment added during import. Any timing statements remain in the original workbook fields below.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: No firm repair timetable
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
No separately verified repair or restart assessment added during import. Any timing statements remain in the original workbook fields below.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Reported estimate
As reported 2026-08-13: Repairs could take up to six months, according to the governor; forecast, not completed restoration. Follow-up to NEW August 11 strike; join to that event. Governor cited imported equipment and sanctions delaying repairs. Do not add a second strike count.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: Indefinite closure reported August 11; no firm repair timetable
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
No separately verified repair or restart assessment added during import. Any timing statements remain in the original workbook fields below.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
No separately verified repair or restart assessment added during import. Any timing statements remain in the original workbook fields below.
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: Fire extinguished August 8; operational recovery unknown
Sep 8, 2026
Russia
Unknown
Workbook recovery note: Fire extinguished August 6; restart timing not reported
Sep 8, 2026
Workbook recovery context · excluded from event counts
Ten dated follow-ups are preserved. The Omsk correction and Orsk forecast are also linked to their incident assessments. Market-wide observations are context, not additional strikes or additive capacity losses.
Recovery Updates · row 2
Asset / scope
Omsk Oil Refinery (Gazpromneft-ONPZ)
Strike date
2026-07-06
Report date
2026-07-07
Status as reported
CORRECTION TO EXISTING RECORD: halted; Reuters sources identified CDU-10 damage and an indirect CDU-11 outage.
Repair timetable / forecast
CDU-11 could resume in the near future, per sources; no dated restart verified.
Capacity / flow impact
CDU-10: 38% of capability; CDU-11: 37%. These are affected-unit shares, not permanent capacity losses.
Source citation
Reuters. Russia's largest oil refinery halts processing after drone attack, sources say. 2026-07-07.
Pre-cutoff clarification; do not count as a new attack. Existing AVT-11 direct-hit wording conflicts with this account. Current September status remains unverified.
Recovery Updates · row 3
Asset / scope
Russia — aggregate upstream and refinery recovery
Strike date
Report date
2026-08-06
Status as reported
July output increased with recovering refinery throughput and strong exports, according to two industry sources.
Repair timetable / forecast
No asset-specific restart dates.
Capacity / flow impact
July crude and condensate output rose about 100,000 bpd month-on-month to above 9 million bpd.
Source citation
Reuters. Russia's oil output rises in July on firm exports, refinery run recovery, sources say. 2026-08-06.
Aggregate production indicator, not refining capacity restored. Crude/condensate is not directly comparable with crude-only OPEC series. Do not allocate to individual refineries.
Recovery Updates · row 4
Asset / scope
Orsk oil refinery
Strike date
2026-08-11
Report date
2026-08-13
Status as reported
Complete shutdown confirmed by Orenburg governor Yevgeny Solntsev.
Repair timetable / forecast
Repairs could take up to six months, according to the governor; forecast, not completed restoration.
Capacity / flow impact
Annual crude capacity reported as 6 million tonnes; actual lost throughput not quantified.
Follow-up to NEW August 11 strike; join to that event. Governor cited imported equipment and sanctions delaying repairs. Do not add a second strike count.
Recovery Updates · row 5
Asset / scope
Russia — domestic fuel availability
Strike date
Report date
2026-08-17
Status as reported
Fuel restrictions returned in at least 10 regions after late-July improvement and renewed attacks.
Repair timetable / forecast
End-July improvement did not persist into August.
Capacity / flow impact
Gasoline exchange sales down about 20% since early August versus second-half July.
Source citation
Reuters. Second wave of fuel shortages at petrol stations sweeps across Russia. 2026-08-17.
Market availability and exchange-sales indicator, not a national refining-capacity outage percentage.
Recovery Updates · row 6
Asset / scope
Russia — gasoline production; Perm, NORSI and Yaroslavl outages
Strike date
Report date
2026-08-28
Status as reported
Sources reported recent shutdowns at Perm, Nizhny Novgorod and Yaroslavl refineries.
Repair timetable / forecast
No specific restoration dates reported.
Capacity / flow impact
Late-August gasoline production approximately 80,000 tonnes/day, about 70% of estimated 115,000 tonnes/day demand; August average approximately 90,000 tonnes/day.
Source citation
Reuters. Russia's gasoline output drops to 70% of domestic demand late in August after drone attacks, sources say. 2026-08-28.
Production/demand comparison, not percentage of refinery nameplate capacity destroyed. Period-end estimate differs from monthly average. Reuters relied on two industry sources; ministry did not respond.
Recovery Updates · row 7
Asset / scope
Russia — diesel and other fuel export restrictions
Strike date
Report date
2026-08-29
Status as reported
Government extended producer diesel export ban through September 30.
Repair timetable / forecast
Policy endpoint, not refinery restoration date.
Capacity / flow impact
No incremental physical capacity-loss estimate.
Source citation
Reuters. Russia extends ban on diesel exports until September 30. 2026-08-29.
Statement also covered marine fuel and gas oils. Several refineries remained offline according to sources. This export restriction should not be counted as a strike or a direct measure of physical destruction.
Recovery Updates · row 8
Asset / scope
Russia — crude oil production outlook
Strike date
Report date
2026-09-03
Status as reported
Novak acknowledged production below forecast linked partly to unscheduled refinery maintenance.
Repair timetable / forecast
He forecast recovery as refineries resumed; no asset-specific dates.
Capacity / flow impact
Government draft lowered 2026–2029 oil production estimates by 16–20 million tonnes versus May outlook.
Source citation
Reuters. Russia will slightly cut oil output this year, deputy PM Novak says. 2026-09-03.
Draft forecast revision, not observed loss solely attributable to strikes. The article's direct quotation says unscheduled maintenance; avoid substituting scheduled maintenance from the search synopsis.
Recovery Updates · row 9
Asset / scope
Russia — fuel oil exports
Strike date
Report date
2026-09-07
Status as reported
August fuel oil exports reached the lowest level in Kpler's series beginning in 2017.
Repair timetable / forecast
Not reported.
Capacity / flow impact
591,000 bpd in August versus more than 860,000 bpd average in 2025.
Source citation
Reuters. Ship fuel shortage looms as refiners strained by war favour other products. 2026-09-07.
Exports are affected by refinery operations, product yields and policy. This is not a refinery-capacity outage estimate; do not add it to gasoline shortfalls.
Recovery Updates · row 10
Asset / scope
Russia — crude exports
Strike date
Report date
2026-09-08
Status as reported
Crude exports remained elevated while domestic refining weakened.
Repair timetable / forecast
No asset-specific recovery dates.
Capacity / flow impact
Approximately 5.5 million bpd in July and August versus 6.4 million bpd June peak; 23% above February, per Kpler.
Executive market assessment; unspecified comparison baseline. Quote refers to products, not diesel alone. Do not relabel as 2 million bpd of diesel or destroyed refinery capacity.
Reports awaiting assessment
Prepared drafts for Russia & Ukraine. Review, approve & publish, or dismiss. Pending drafts remain private.
Compare an incident with the prior 72 hours
Inspect thermal detections near a reported attack, view daily imagery, and record what the evidence supports.
1 · Confirm place & time2 · Compare detections & imagery3 · Save an evidence review
Incident comparisons and saved satellite evidence are available to the dashboard editor.
Query regional thermal observations, or import a FIRMS CSV. The original CSV and acquisition metadata are retained. This does not automatically confirm an attack or assign damage severity.
NASA API key not connected. CSV ingestion is available. Get a free MAP_KEY.
Import FIRMS CSV
Filed under Russia & Ukraine; check that the file covers this region.
Maximum 2 MB. Required columns: latitude, longitude, acq_date, acq_time. Sensor and confidence metadata are preserved when supplied.
Interpret before corroborating
Check whether observations overlap the reported place and time. Regional hotspot counts alone cannot match a facility.
Compare with pre-event heat patterns. Routine flares, industrial heat and vegetation fires can produce detections.
Check cloud and overpass coverage. No hotspot does not exclude an attack or damage without sustained fire.
Record the conclusion with its evidence and limitations in the incident assessment. Neither fire radiative power nor pixel count estimates lost capacity or repair time.
VIIRS: approximately 375 m pixels. Global near-real-time products are generally available within 3 hours of observation. Observation latency is not incident-detection latency. NASA methodology.
Saved thermal evidence
Russia & Ukraine · unreviewed
No thermal evidence for this selection
Unassigned imports are available under All regions. Incident comparisons are available above.
Shared source register for all regions, covering discovery and verification. Connection labels describe the implemented access route; collection success is shown separately in the run log. Syndication and translated editions do not create independent evidence.
Europe, Latin America, US/Canada, Africa, Asia and Middle East feeds provide a second discovery route when GDELT is unavailable. Asia and Europe feeds need geographic review; feed availability does not establish complete energy coverage.
Finds articles across machine-translated reporting. Titles, publication metadata and original links enter the review queue. A news hit is not an incident or independent confirmation.
Energy Dimension reviews summarize Ukraine attacks, restoration and energy markets using official sources. Weekly synthesis, not a complete repair ledger.
VIIRS NOAA-20/21 observations can support fire assessment. Flares, cloud, overpass timing and geolocation affect interpretation. No automatic attack confirmation.
Grid conditions, outages and restoration. Automated social collection is not connected; AI processing requires appropriate platform and content permissions.
Published analysis provides historical context. Supplied Ukraine and Gulf workbooks dated 8 September 2026 are now reconciled into the dashboard, with original row references, source URLs and review holds. Imported labels remain workbook claims until separately assessed.
English / Russian / UkrainianAnalysis / supplied workbooks imported
Evidence before inference
Shared assessment method for all regions.
01
Discover
Collect original news links and multilingual headlines. Preserve source affiliation, language and publication date. Publication time is not automatically incident time.
02
Reconcile
Combine reports about the same facility and incident. Keep source lineage, event date uncertainty and repeat strikes explicit. Do not sum overlapping facility or portfolio records.
03
Assess
Separate physical damage, operating disruption and cause attribution. A corroborated outage does not necessarily mean a corroborated attacker.
04
Follow recovery
Record repair forecasts with source and assessment date. Revise when new evidence appears. Preserve partial restart, full restoration and reconstruction as different milestones.
Severity categories are qualitative summaries of the cited evidence. Unknown is not zero damage. Estimates need explicit labels; none are generated from asset class alone.
Event records may cover multiple components of one incident; they are not unique-facility totals. Aggregate reports are labeled separately and can overlap individual events. The system does not sum nameplate capacity into “capacity destroyed,” or combine barrels, cubic meters, tonnes and megawatts.
Historical backfill reviewed September 8, 2026, with a scope starting February 24, 2022. Current facility operating condition remains unassessed unless a later, dated report explicitly establishes it.
Daily updates & publication
Daily schedule not yet activated
News collection adds leads to the review queue. Editorial assessments remain separate. A source failure is shown as unavailable; it never becomes “no incidents.” The built-in collection covers RSS and GDELT metadata, not paywalled article bodies.
Dashboard address:energy.collinsresearchportal.com. The dashboard is publicly readable. Editing, pending reports and raw satellite evidence require the editor account.
Substack: link to the hosted dashboard from a post or navigation item. Substack posts do not accept arbitrary custom HTML or iframes; use a dashboard link in a post or navigation item.
NASA API use needs a free MAP_KEY stored on the server. Social automation needs permitted access: X is not connected, and Telegram links are reviewed manually. Telegram API terms.
The inventory begins on 24 February 2022. It is a selective baseline, not an exhaustive census. Ukraine strike waves and portfolio damage reports are marked as aggregates; they may overlap individual facility reports and should not be summed into a strike count.
The supplied Collins Ukraine and Gulf workbooks were imported on 8 September 2026. All 601 Master Data rows are accounted for: 544 added records, 36 matches to existing records and 21 held for review. Their 12 original review items also remain outside event counts. New rows retain a “Workbook record” evidence label; imported source claims have not been independently reverified. Some years and regions remain less densely covered. Missing records do not imply that no event occurred.
Import normalized incident records
JSON matching the example, up to 20 MB. All records are validated first, then saved in batches of 40. Completed batches remain saved if a later batch fails. Existing IDs are updated and previous versions retained. Workbook provenance is included in exports.